Hidaka-sanmyaku Erimo Quasi-National Park, Japan Hidaka Mountains


Triposo is Your Smart Travel Guide

Discover and book hotels, restaurants and local experiences in 50,000 destinations worldwide. Triposo works offline so you can wander freely.


Save this to your mobile device

Hidaka Mountains is a mountain range in southeastern Hokkaido, Japan. It runs 150 km from Mount Sahoro or Karikachi Pass in central Hokkaidō south, running into the sea at Cape Erimo. It consists of folded mountains that range from 1,500 to 2,000 metres in height. Mount Poroshiri is the highest at 2,053 m. The Hidaka Mountains separate the subprefectures of Hidaka and Tokachi. Most of the range lies in the Hidaka-sanmyaku Erimo Quasi-National Park . Since the mountain range lies so far north, the alpine climate zone lies at a lower altitude.


The Hidaka Mountains formed in the late Quaternary as part of the outer arc of the western end of the Kuril Island Arc. They were formed by the uplift resulting from the collision with the Kuril arc and the Northeast Japan Arc. The Hidaka mountains no longer appear to be uplifting.
The western end of the range is high P/T metamorphoseed Jurassic accretionary complex as part of the Kamuikotan belt. This is characterized by sedimentary rocks from the Cretaceous and Jurassic-Lower Cretaceous periods. The eastern end of the range is tertiary metamorphic rock as part of the Hidaka Metamorphic belt. This is characterized by low to medium pressure metamorphic rocks with sedimentary rocks from the Cretaceous-Lower Miocene. Plutonic rocks intrude into these structures. For the most part, the Hidaka mountains are composed of schists, migmatites, gneisses, and granites.


The Hidaka mountains are the only mountains in Hokkaido to show evidence of glaciation. This occurs above 1400m, where one can find moraines and more than 20 cirques from Mount Kitatottabetsu in the north to Mount Toyoni in the south.

Flora and fauna

Callianthemum miyabeanum
Mount Apoi is known for endemic alpine plant life, such as Callianthemum miyabeanum. The Hidaka Mountains are also one of the last refuges of the Hokkaido bear and Hokkaido deer (Cervus nippon yesoensis).
The mountains can be divided into four zones. The topmost zone (1,400–1,600 m) is colonized by Siberian dwarf pine and other alpine flora. From 1,200–1,300 m is occupied by Betula ermanii. The zone above 500 m is occupied by Picea jezoensis and Abies sachalinensis along with broad-leafed trees. The lowest zone below 500 m is occupied by broad-leafed trees, including Quercus mongolica, Acer pictum subsp. mono and Cercidiphyllum japonicum.
Resident bird species include hazel grouse, black woodpecker, great spotted woodpecker, white-backed woodpecker, goldcrest, Eurasian treecreeper, and spotted nutcracker. Summer visitors to the Hidaka Mountains include Japanese accentor, Siberian blue robin, Japanese robin, red-flanked bluetail, Siberian thrush, Eastern crowned warbler, narcissus flycatcher, blue-and-white flycatcher, dark-sided flycatcher, grey bunting, and Eurasian bullfinch. Notable bird species that transit the Hidaka mountains are Arctic warbler and eyebrowed thrush.

List of passes and tunnels

The major passes and tunnels through the Hidaka Mountains are as follows:

List of peaks by height

Mountains of the Hidaka range in order of elevation:
Name Height
Mount Poroshiri 2052.8m
Mount Kamuiekuuchikaushi 1979.4m
Mount Tottabetsu 1959m
Mount Pipairo 1916.5m
Mount Kitatottabetsu 1912m
Mount Esaoman-Tottabetsu 1902m
Mount Satsunai 1895.5m
Mount Chiroro 1879.9m
Mount Tokachiporoshiri 1846.0m
1839 Metre Summit 1842m
Mount Nukabira 1807.9m
Mount Namewakka 1799.1m
Mount Yaoromappu 1794.3m
Mount Fushimi 1792m
Mount Kamui 1756.1m
Mount Memuro 1753.7m
Mount Idonmappu 1752m
Mount Penkenūshi 1750.1m
Mount Pankenūshi 1746m
Mount Rubeshibe 1740.0m
Mount Petegari 1736.2m
Mount Oshiki 1731.3m
Mount Rubetsune 1727.3m
Mount Koikakushusatsunai 1721m
Pirika Nupuri 1630.8m
Mount Shikashinai 1627.9m
Mount Shibichari 1626.9m
Mount Soematsu 1625m
Mount Kamui (Urakawa-Hiroo) 1600.5m
Mount Piratokomi 1587.7m
Mount Pekerebetsu 1532.0m
Mount Nakano 1519m
Mount Iwanai 1497.7m
Mount Toyoni (Urakawa-Hiroo) 1493m
Mount Shunbetsu 1491.8m
Mount Tomuraushi (Hidaka) 1476.7m
Mount Rakko 1471.9m
Mount Tokachi (Hidaka) 1457.2m
Mount Futamata 1437.9m
Mount Saru 1422.0m
Mount Kyusan 1411.7m
Mount Ponyaoromappu 1405.6m
Mount Omusha 1379m
Mount Nishikawa 1362.0m
Mount Nozuka 1353.2m
Mount Rutori 1350.4m
Nakano Summit 1341.4m
Mount Kamitaki 1331m
Mount Karifuri 1323.2m
Mount Beppirigai 1307.7m
Mount Tomamu 1239.3m
Mount Hiroo 1231m
Mount Tsurugi (Hokkaidō) 1205.1m
Mount Kumami 1175m
Mount Pirigai 1166.9m
Mount Toyoni (Erimo) 1105.0m
Mount Odasshu 1097.7m
Mount Obihiro 1089.0m
Mount Sahoro 1059.5m
Mount Pisenai 1027.4m
Mount Uchiichi 1021.7m
Pinneshiri 958.2m
Mount Kannon 932m
Mount Okishimappu 895m
Mount Hakamagoshi 872.3m
Mount Apoi 810.6m
Mount Ruchishi 754m
Mount Yoko 725.3m
Mount Tengu (Samani) 666m
Mount Daimaru 271m
Mount Maru (Hiroo) 117.0m




Hidaka Mountains