Les Eclaireurs Lighthouse (the French name "Les Éclaireurs" means "the Scouts") is a slightly conically shaped lighthouse standing on the northeastern-most island of the five or more Les Eclaireurs islands, which it takes its name from, 5nmi east of Ushuaia in the Beagle Channel, Tierra del Fuego, southern Argentina.
Les Éclaireurs Lighthouse
The brick-built tower is 11m high and 3m wide at the base, with its windowless wall painted red-white-red and topped by a black lantern housing and gallery. Only a door pointing to the west provides access to the building. The light is 22.5m above sealevel emitting white flashes every ten seconds with a range of 7.5nmi. The lighthouse is still in operation, is remote-controlled, automated, uninhabited and is not open to the public, guarding the sea entrance to Ushuaia. Electricity is supplied by solar-panels. The lighthouse was put into service on December 23, 1920.
It is a popular tourist attraction, reached on short boat tours from Ushuaia. It is known to the Argentines as the Lighthouse at the End of the World (Faro del fin del mundo), although that name is misleading. The lighthouse is often confused with the San Juan de Salvamento lighthouse on the east coast of the remote Isla de los Estados, made famous by Jules Verne in the novel The Lighthouse at the End of the World, which is actually much further east.