26 Broadway, also known as the Standard Oil Building, is a 31-story, 520ft landmarked office building located at Bowling Green in the Financial District of New York City. As of 2017, the structure is the 220th tallest building in New York City and the 650th tallest building in the United States.
26 Broadway was also the home address in the late 18th century of Alexander Hamilton, his wife Elizabeth Schuyler Hamilton, and their family.
26 Broadway around 1930
Standard Oil's first building on the site of 26 Broadway was built in 1885 to design specifications by architect Francis H. Kimball, when Standard Oil moved its headquarters from Cleveland, Ohio. It was a 10-story, 86ft building that extended between Broadway and New Street in Manhattan. It was designed by Ebenezer L. Roberts. In 1895, six stories were added and a 27ft extension was made on its north side, designed by Kimball & Thompson. After World War I, Walter C. Teagle decided to greatly expand the structure by buying all four neighboring buildings on the block.
The building was extensively overhauled and virtually rebuilt in 1921–1928 by Thomas Hastings, the surviving partner of Carrère and Hastings, with Shreve, Lamb and Blake as associate architects. Hastings, who had helped design the Cunard Building (later called the Standard & Poor's Building) across the street at 25 Broadway, was chosen as lead architect. The building is unusual in that its lower portion follows the curving contour of Broadway at that point, while its tower is aligned with the other nearby skyscrapers of lower Manhattan. It is one of the first buildings in Manhattan to have setbacks and is topped by a pyramid modeled on the Mausoleum of Maussollos. At the time of completion, the pyramid was the tallest tower at the southern tip of Manhattan and was illuminated as a beacon for ships entering the harbor.
Standard Oil of New Jersey (then called Esso), moved to 75 Rockefeller Plaza in 1946. The Mobil division moved to 150 East 42nd Street in 1954. Standard Oil sold the building in 1956. The building was designated as a New York City landmark in 1995.
Lower portions of the building have been used for museums: the Museum of American Finance from 1988 to 2006, and the Sports Museum of America from 2008 to 2009. Current tenants include the JDRF, Cornell University's College of Architecture, Art, and Planning, Dowling College Manhattan, Olo (Online Ordering), and Richard R Green High School of Teaching as well as ReD Associates. A highly ranked middle school, Lower Manhattan Community School, is also based in the building. During the 1990 Census, the building held a Census District Office that administered the decennial census of Lower Manhattan.