Lee Vining, California History

 

The town was named after Leroy Vining, who founded the town in 1852 as a mining camp. In 1926, the town was laid out by Chris Mattly and named "Lakeview", but when a post office was sought in 1928, it was learned that another town, Lakeview, California already had the name. The name of Lee Vining was chosen in 1953. The place was also called Poverty Flat for its unfavorable conditions for agriculture.

Source

Wikipedia