Otahuhu Railway Station is located on the Eastern and Southern Lines of the Auckland rail network. It has an island platform layout and can be reached by pedestrian overbridges from Walmsey Road Road and Titi Street. Otahuhu station features a signal box and is the point where both freight and passenger trains enter and exit the main line from the Westfield locomotive depot.
The station was opened in the 1870s to serve the increasing settlement at Otahuhu, with a road eventually constructed to the station. The station included a goods shed and a main building, which however burned down in 1909 after a fire in the oil room got out of hand with no water supply available to suppress the fires.
In 1927, Otahuhu Railway Workshops opened on a site west of the station. This facility became the North Island's foremost wagon and carriage construction and repair facility. It was progressively closed from 1986 to 1992.
Further south, between Otahuhu station and Mangere station, a rail fabrication facility was built. This facility is still in use. Otahuhu also possessed Auckland's second-largest locomotive depot, which was opened in 1905, and closed in 1968, with the opening of the Westfield facility.
The station, as of 2010, remains one of the worst-maintained on the Auckland network. Concerns have also repeatedly been raised in previous years about the security situation and the distance to the nearest bus services, with the station located in an out-of-the-way industrial area.