Sri Baduga Museum

Sri Baduga Museum

museum in Bandung, Indonesia

+62 22 5210976     jalan peta     Website     Mo-Fr 8AM-3PM, Sa-Su 8AM-2PM, closed on public holidays

Details

Phone: +62 22 5210976
Address: jalan peta
Website: www.​bandungtourism.​com/​tododet.​php?​q=Museum%20Sri%20Baduga
Hours: Mo-Fr 8AM-3PM, Sa-Su 8AM-2PM, closed on public holidays
Bus: 01A, VII (PT INTI)

 

from Wikipedia by Rochelimit by-sa/3.0

Sri Baduga Museum is a state museum located in Bandung, Indonesia. As a state museum, the museum features various items related with the province of West Java, such as Sundanese crafts, furnishings, geologic history, and natural diversity.

History

Sri Baduga Museum was first founded in 1974 within a building formerly used as the government office of the Kawedanan Tegallega, a former administrative division within Bandung. On 5 June 1980, the museum was officially founded as Museum Negeri Propinsi Jawa Barat by the Ministry of Education and Cultural at that time, Dr. Daud Yusuf. In 1990, the museum was renamed Museum Negeri Propinsi Jawa Barat Sri Baduga ("Sri Baduga State Museum of West Java Province") or Sri Baduga Museum, after a 15th-century Sundanese King Sri Baduga Maharaja.

Collection

Sri Baduga Museum collects items related with the Province of West Java. The collection is spread over three floors. The first floor displays the initial development of the natural history and culture of West Java. The history of West Java is described by a display of heritage items from the prehistoric era to the Hindu-Buddhist era.
The second floor includes an exhibition of traditional cultural objects which were important for living, trade and transport, as well as the influence of the Islam and and European culture, the history of national struggle, and various seals of cities in West Java.
The third floor contains ethnographic collections in the form of fabrics, art and ceramics.

Sources

Wikipedia, Wikivoyage, Facebook API, OpenStreetMap

Have you been here?

Share your experience with the community

Add a Tip

Similar Places

Houses 250,000 rocks, a mineral collection, and 60,000 fossils.

 

Museum Geologi

details

Architect: J. Gerber, built in 1921. It was used as the head of the Dutch Indies Government Companies.

 

Gedung Sate

details

Architect: Van Gallen Last and C.P.W Schoemaker. Built in 1895 for a club house for rich people, named the Concordia Society.

 

Gedung Merdeka

details
sources
Wikipedia , Wikivoyage , Facebook API , OpenStreetMap